NEWS‎ > ‎

2011-12 Awards Banquet

posted Jun 8, 2012, 6:26 PM by Yorktown High School   [ updated May 15, 2013, 9:29 AM by Yorktown High School ]
Special Thank You to our sponsor Lebanese Taverna and to our students & parents.

The Team celebrated another year of success with the 14th annual Awards Banquet this Thursday, June 8th, 2012. Click on the slideshow on the left for more photos. This has been another successful year for the team. It has also been one of the largest teams we've had in recent years.

The team was able to capture various District, Regional titles. Additionally, the team qualified students into various National Tournaments including but not limited to the NFL, the NCFL, and the TOC.

Thank you for those parents and students who came to the ceremony and to those who provided desserts and donations. It is this kind of support that made the team possible. Thank you again!

Below is a list of awards given:

Class of 2012 Seniors:
We would like to recognize and send our most sincere wishes to the Seniors on the team:
Congratulations Evan Brandolino, Ben Constine, Aaron Eilbott, Hannah Green, Max Horner, Madeline McGill, Andrew Prensky, and Drew Teitelbaum.
Please feel free to come back and visit and/or judge for us in the future.

Individual Events:
We would like to recognize the following students for their success in their respective events:
Lincoln-Douglas Debate - Sharon Platt & Alicia Walsh
Public Forum Debate - Aaron Eilbott & Sophie Frank
Speech - Victoria Hicks & Maddie Moran
Student Congress - Bennett Lincoln & Sarah Mosley

In addition, we would like to recognize the "Nationally Ranked" Ben Constine for his accomplishments.

Certificates of Excellence:
Lincoln-Douglas Debate - Thuy Vuong and Catie Castello
Public Forum Debate - Oscar Martin
Speech - Kim Eldridge, Noah Goodwin, Laine Hamilton, Madeline McGill, Audrey Pence, Andrew Prensky, and Sarah Woodward
Student Congress - Liza Ayres, Evan Brandolino, Gracie Conyngham, Mary Cowden, Genevieve Harner, Rebecca Horner, Max Horner, Nick Jennings, Brody Koch, Margaret Koskinen, Drew Teitelbaum, Benjamin Troxel, Le Yi, and Yiwu Zhang

Varsity Letters:
Evan Brandolino, Ben Constine, Aaron Eilbott, Christina Giarusso (11th Grade) Hannah Green, Madeline McGill, Andrew Prensky, and Drew Teitelbaum

Eleanor E. Wright's Memorial Award:
Ms. Judy Fox
The Eleanor E. Wright's Memorial Award recognizes parents, staff members, coaches, and volunteers who contributed greatly to the team.

Recognition of Staff Members:
This year, we would like to recognize the following staff members of Yorktown High School for their support:
Ms. Lottie Mack, Ms. Amanda Mackaye, and Mrs. Wanda Perkins

President of the 2012-13 Debate & Speech Team
Christina Giarusso

Congratulations, we enjoyed having you on the team, and we hope to see you back next year. 
Stay awesome and have a great summer

About the Team:
The Yorktown High School Debate & Speech Team is one of the most successful programs in the region. The program originated in the 1960s when Yorktown first opened its' doors. Although the program was stopped for a period of time, it was restarted in 1998 and proven to be a success. Each year, the team qualifies students to National, State and Regional tournaments. Furthermore, the Team was able to capture three consecutive VHSL AAA State Champions, it is the only team in the APS system to do so in recent history.